MHS’s Model Congress Brings Home Awards

MHS’s Model Congress Brings Home Awards
Posted on 01/26/2016

160126The Team

Montclair High School’s Model Congress Team competed in the Yale Model Congress Conference the first weekend of December at Yale University in New Haven, Connecticut. The team brought home an incredible 17 awards, including Best Delegate, Best Legislation and numerous Honorable Mention awards. Two students won highly competitive Full Session awards and one student won Best Delegate in an Advanced Committee (The Supreme Court).

This was the first time the team has competed at this conference and advisors Billy Wingren and Tom Manos were thrilled with their performance. “We are proud that many of the team members who won awards were participating in their first competition including all three of the 9th graders on the team,” said Wingren.

“But we are most proud of how the entire team carried themselves,” he continued. “This is a four-day competition where the students are participating in mock debate and law making from 9 am to 11:30 pm each day. They all competed at a very high level with the utmost dedication and preparation.”

The Model Congress Team was going to be honored at the Board of Education meeting on Mon., Jan. 25 which was cancelled due to the snowstorm. Students will receive their certificates in school.

Name Year Award
Will Blackman 10 Best Delegate
Caroline Kelly 12 Best Delegate
Isabel Levine 10 Best Delegate
Sophia Isidore 12 Best Delegate Special Committee
Leila Alidoost 11 Best Legislation
Grace Gorant 11 Best Legislation
David Veldran 10 Best Legislation
Stella Balsamini 12 Honorable Mention
Anna Howland-Kruse 9 Honorable Mention
Maya Jenkins 11 Honorable Mention
Owen Kaplan 10 Honorable Mention
Julia Maskin 9 Honorable Mention
Molly Povich 11 Honorable Mention
Dean Schansinger 10 Honorable Mention
Claudia Silver 12 Honorable Mention
Kimoni De Pass 9 Honorable Mention Full Session
Ben Weintraub 12 Honorable Mention Full Session
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.