Sorority Awards Scholarships to MHS Students

Sorority Awards Scholarships to MHS Students
Posted on 05/22/2019
The Montclair Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. held its annual scholarship luncheon on Sun., May 19, 2019. Montclair Superintendent Dr. Kendra V. Johnson, a member of the sorority, was on hand for the festivities and to celebrate the Montclair High School recipients for their exemplary academic accomplishments. 

The event included musical selections, reflections from speakers including last year’s recipient and the Keynote Address by Montclair resident, Dr. Angelica Allen-McMillan. Paquita Mason, President of the chapter offered these congratulatory words of wisdom to the graduates, “This is an exceptional time in your life. Treasure each moment, analyze each step and consider every decision. I wish you much success in your educational endeavors.”

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. was founded in 1913 by 22 collegiate women at Howard University to promote academic excellence and provide assistance to those in need.

scholarship recipients

Pictured from left: Keomy Noel (MHS ’19), who will be attending Rutgers University-Newark, majoring in Nursing; Nevaeh Warren (MHS ’19), who will be attending Drew University, majoring in Sociology and International Relations; Paquita Mason, Delta Sigma Theta, Inc. Montclair Chapter President; Dr. Kendra V. Johnson, Montclair Superintendent; Kimoni DePass (MHS ’19), who will be attending New York University, majoring in Social Work and Human Development; Issata Green (MHS ’19), who will be attending Georgia State University, majoring in Exercise Science.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.