MHS Students Earn Commendations

MHS Students Earn Commendations
Posted on 09/24/2020
Twenty-five Montclair High School students earned Commended Student honors in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program. These talented seniors received a letter of commendation and congratulatory letter from MHS and National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC). About 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise, based on a national selection index score. Although they will not continue in the 2021 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the top 50,000 of more than 1.5 million juniors from about 21,000 high schools who entered the competition by taking the 2019 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).

“Those being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success,” said a NMSC spokesperson. “These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments as well as the key role schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation.”

Commended Students (24 with approval for publishing):

Emily Applebaum
Robert J. Axelrod
Jackson Bartlett
Dominika Bondy
Amelia Chan
Ethan L. Coplan
Valentin J. De La Pena
Benjamin D. Foley-Wilkins
William R. Godsil
Diego Goldfrank
George H. Held
Sophie E. King
Hannah G. Levine
Lucy J. Maguire
Isabella A. Martling
Dexter T. Matthews
Alexander Petroff
Katerina S. Petroff
Zachary Rich
Violet L. Ross
Levi J. Saltzman
Joshua Shapiro
Robert W. Van Wagner
Kayla E. Weaver

Approximately 16,000 PSAT/NMSQT high performers were designated semi-finalists on a state representational basis. Four Montclair High School students were named as semifinalists in the 66th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $30 million that will be offered next spring:

Madeleine N. Blackburn
Maxwell O. Blackburn
Walsh A. Giarrusso
Eleanor G. Hickock

NMSC, a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance, was established in 1955 specifically to conduct the annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC with its own funds and by approximately 400 business organizations and higher education institutions that share NMSC’s goals of honoring the nation’s scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.